“No Es Justo”

There’s been a lot of talk on immigration lately, illegal immigration for the most part. I understand both sides. Americans who keep losing their jobs in an increasingly difficult economy are just trying to look out for their families. Immigrants from various countries are also trying to support their families. Let’s face, they wouldn’t up and leave everything they know to come work minimum wage jobs here if they didn’t have to. It’s hard all around, and the only people who profit from it are corrupt governments and companies who fire their old workers to exploit illegal ones. A while ago I wrote a song about this. Forgive my Spanish, but here it is. The italics aren’t lyrics, just a translation.

“No Es Justo”

Soy de la Ciudad de Méjico      I’m from Mexico City

es un diablo de un pueblo        It’s a devil of a town

el gobierno no es honesto       The government’s not honest

mi familia no come mucho      My family doesn’t eat much

Yo corrí a Los Estados               I fled to the USA

deje a mi esposa y a mis niños    Left my wife and children [behind]

y yo sufro un viaje terrible             And I suffered a terrible journey

para conseguir un trabajo             In order to get a job

y las personas me odian                And the people hate me

pero mi familia come ahora         but my family eats now

V2

I live in the boonies

used to pack meat for Hormel

fifteen dollars an hour, wasn’t my dream job

it was hell, but it paid well

now I push carts at the WalMart

like some skinny teenage boy

while some mexican man works my job

because he’ll pack for less than half

I wanted better for my children

but I can barely feed them now

I shouldn’t hate that mexican man, I know

Still, I wish he’d never come to town

Refrain:

No es justo, no es bueno

It’s not right and  it’s not fair

Hay un cuento por cada hombre

There’s a story for every man

Escucha, we can’t ignore the voices because we don’t understand

Escucha, we must learn to change it, and change it all we can

v3

Charts are up in Hormel

Despite the strikes in the South

but we baited them, waited them

brought in Latinos

and busted the unions out

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dan O'Shea on May 4, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Sometimes I’m a little jealous of my Daja. She can write some. Of course, she wishes she was hot like me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

